Carlos “Kid” Loya (Muhammed Ali 1942-2016)

It’s a couple of days after the great Muhammad Ali passed away (June 3rd, 2016). The strangest thing happened to me. I’m walking back from the store and I encounter this older gentleman with a cane and a photo album. I saw the man trying to speak with people as they passed him. I also saw those same people ignore him and keep walking. Now, as a large African American male I see people trying to connect with people on the street all the time and I also see those same people decide not to try to connect with me. These people include Peace Corp volunteers, Jehova Witnesses and people trying to get signatures to get bills introduced for consideration. The funny thing about this to me is that I’m probably the best guy to approach about these things because I’ll actually stop and listen. I’m may agree with the bills being considered and sign up. The most important thing is that it would be a positive exchange and if nothing else I hope to leave them reinvigorated, energized and ready to continue the struggle. So as I got closer I was ready to be ignored. Just as we were about to pass each other he says, “Who was the greatest boxer of all time?”. I say “excuse me?”. Almost surprised he was speaking to me. He says it again, “Who was the greatest boxer of all time?”. I say (tentatively), “Muhammad Ali?” and I was tentative because I wasn’t really sure of his motives or intentions. Because all great people in life and history they can be polarizing. People will love and hate them. He says, “Yes! Muhammad Ali!”. I’m thinking okay, we agree, but what does this mean to two strangers passing each other on the street? He says, “Can I show you something?”. I say “yeah, why not we’ve gone this far.” He then opens the photo album and shows me pictures of someone putting boxing gloves on a young Muhammad Ali. I take a long hard look at the picture and back at him and I realize it’s him. He then shows me another of him ring side in a gym while Ali is sparring. I say, “You knew Muhammed Ali?” He responds with “Yes, I was a boxer in the ’60’s and became a trainer after that.”. We spoke for a little while and he explained that he also trained Jack Dempsey and some other people who went on to the Olympics. At this point I am blown away. I ask his name. He says “Carlos “Kid” Loya” and proceeds to show me pictures of himself as a young boxer. I say, “I’m standing one degree of seperation from someone who knew Muhammed Ali.” We shake hands and he ask my name. I say “Reggie Steele”. He says “It was a pleasure meeting you.”. I say, “Thank you. It was a pleasure meeting you as well.”. He continues on his way and I go mine. And I think to myself, “Wow! I just shook hands with a man who put gloves on the greatest boxer of all time!” This is just one of the random things that continue to happen to me. I hope it never stops because I appreciate these moments more than words can express. I’ve always admired and respected Muhammed Ali. And it would have been an honor to meet him and shake his hand. That never happened but I shook hands with a man who put gloves on those hands and thats good enough for me. #perspective

image

Here is a picture of Carlos holding pictures of himself and Jack Dempsey.

image

Here is a picture of the Muhammed Ali, dodging a vicious left hook from Joe Frasier.

2 Responses to “Carlos “Kid” Loya (Muhammed Ali 1942-2016)”

  1. Lucas Hughes Says:

    I just met him today, googled him and found this article, he was talking about making a movie based on his life, I think he should get it. It was a lovely encounter with a lovely man, we talked for almost an hour!

    • Carolina Wang Says:

      Met this nice fella at Pier 39
      Someone should help him make this documentary.
      Any students out there? , production is so much cheaper…. Divine time •_•
      Caro G.W

Leave a comment